Coffee, scrubs, and fur

A glimpse into the insane life of a vet tech student

Getting it off my sleeve

Leave a comment

We’ll just cut it to the chase: the veterinary technology program, and the whole field in general, is one of those things that is hard to explain to people  on the “outside”. I’ve never been much of a writer. Lord knows how many diaries I have started and left at that. But I am starting to feel that someone needs to give a glimpse into the crazy life and mind of a vet tech (student). In return, I am hoping to receive self-therapy to help me through – you’ll see why eventually.

What is a Vet Tech?

To put it in simple terms, a vet tech is a nurse for animals. We learn and perform the exact same things that a human nurse would – just on four-legged animals (and for a significantly less salary!). Vet techs are literally the backbone of the veterinary field (vets=head, assistants and other staff = supporting limbs). We are the go-between for the doctors, clients, and staff alike. To quote my professors: we are first and foremost the patient’s advocate! Common misconception: vet techs are not veterinary assistants! Don’t get me wrong, veterinary assistants are important to the success of a clinic, but they do not go through at least two years of schooling and board exams to obtain their title.

Please don’t ask us when….

…we are going to go into vet school? or why don’t we want to be the doctor? or why didn’t we go into human medicine? We literally get these question every day! Personally, I don’t want to be a vet (doctor) because they don’t get the daily hands-on duties that I love. Vet techs (just like human nurses) usually establish a more personal connection/relationship with the patient (and client!) than the doctor ever will. As far as not venturing into human medicine – humans straight up annoy me! Many humans I have dealt with in working and personal situations have time and again shown how lazy, ignorant, disgusting, selfish, and stupid our species is. I could go on and on about that subject, but I’ll leave that for future stories to illustrate. All in all, I would have no problem pulling the plug on a human, especially if they exhibit the qualities listed.

What the program is like in a nutshell:

Challenging, rewarding, draining, unique, unexpected, emotional, worthwhile, etc.

The vet tech program is nothing like what I expected, which is both good and bad. If/when I get through this program, I have no doubt that it will be the most proud and profound moment of my life thus far. I was an all A student all through high school, I already successfully obtained a bachelor’s degree in biology, and I can safely say that the vet tech program is the hardest academic program I have ever been in. It is not uncommon in this program to be failing at some point in time. Heck, they have counselors that work specifically with this program for when a student has emotional break downs (yes it happens all the time!) You have to be smart, responsible, mature, etc to succeed – no slacking off, no partying, no life in general! But through it all, we get to do cool things! Just this last semester I drew blood from various veins from cows, sheep, horses, pigs, dogs, and cats, I got to assist with surgeries already, I put a cow in a headlock and shoved pills down their throats, I got to dart pigs, the list can go on and on. This is the time of our life where our love for animals blossoms into a passion!

Now I know that was lot of rambling and not much of a view into my mind yet, but I had to get that all out there. Keep in mind that my grammar and spelling may not always be spot on. Though I usually am a grammar nazi, I am not as concerned about that on here. I am writing as it comes out in my thoughts.

Funny College Ecard: if i died and went straight to hell it would take me a complete week before i realized i wasn't in vet school anymore.

Leave a comment